Deuchar's church on the hill turns 100
IT WAS March 23, 1919, when more than 500 people were present for the opening ceremony by His Grace Archbishop Duhig of the Sacred Heart Catholic Church at Deuchar.
The centenary will be celebrated with Mass at 11am Saturday and then a shared lunch.
In just four years, the Allora St Patricks's parish under the direction of Rev E. Carroll erected a presbytery, school and convent at Allora followed by a church at Deuchar.
Many families in the district donated land, money and time to erect the little 'Church upon the Hill'.
The Deuchar Railway Station was constructed and opened in 1878, which assisted in the transport of the white bricks from Brisbane for the church.
With a unique (at that time) marbled altar (donated by the Dwan family) and the beautiful stained-glass windows, along with the hammer-beamed ceiling with diagonal sarking, the Sacred Heart Church has certainly made a lasting impression on many who attended, visited, and travelled past.
The first wedding was in 1921 when Miss Annie McMonagle married Mr Stephen Ryan.
The first two for First Holy Communion were Rosslyn Bradfield and Shirley Henry with parish priests Rev. E Carroll and Rev. J Hennessy.
This Saturday, the Deuchar Church will celebrate 100 years since the opening day. All past and present parishioners and locals are invited to help celebrate the centenary.
The centennial celebration will be held with 11am Mass Saturday followed by a shared long lunch. Tea and coffee supplied, please bring along a plate to share for lunch. History book for sale $10, more details 0487848280 or 0408673763. - Monique Bryson