Wallabies name unchanged starting XV

WALLABIES coach Robbie Deans has named an unchanged run-on line-up for one of the toughest missions in international rugby - facing the All Blacks at Eden Park.

The All Blacks have not lost at the revamped Eden Park in all internationals for 17 years and has held old foes the Wallabies to a 25-year losing streak at the stadium.

>> Latest sporting news

However, after crushing South Africa 39-20 in the opening Tri Nations match, Deans has put faith in the same starting XV to end one of longest droughts in Australian sporting history.

The only changes to be made to the travelling squad is the return of NSW Warathas Dan Vickerman, Luke Burgess and Lachie Turner to the bench.

Vickerman is back on the bench at the expense of fellow veteran Nathan Sharpe, and will claim his 57th cap if he makes an appearance at Eden Park.

Only recently returned following a period studying in England, Vickerman tasted 30-minutes of action against Samoa, but was dropped for the match against the Springboks.

Burgess returns to understudy Will Genia, after completing his recovery from a fractured hand, while Turner grabbed his spot after impressing with his club side.

Deans said the changes represented a "horses for courses" approach.

“Burgess and Turner have both worked their way back into contention and have shown that they are now ready to go, while Vickerman really stepped up in training last week, and reinforced that for Sydney Uni on the weekend. This is a contest we believe he is well suited to,” Deans said.


15. Kurtley Beale (Randwick/HSBC Waratahs)
14. James O’Connor (Cottesloe/Western Force)
13. Adam Ashley-Cooper (Northern Suburbs/Brumbies)
12. Pat McCabe (Warringah/Brumbies)
11. Digby Ioane (Sunnybank/Queensland Reds)
10. Quade Cooper (Souths/Queensland Reds)
9. Will Genia (Norths/Queensland Reds)
8. Ben McCalman (Sydney University/Western Force)
7. David Pocock (Western Force)
6. Rocky Elsom [c] (Randwick/Brumbies)
5. James Horwill (University of Queensland/Queensland Reds)
4. Rob Simmons (Sunnybank/Queensland Reds)
3. Ben Alexander (Eastwood/Brumbies)
2. Stephen Moore (University of Queensland/Brumbies)
1. Sekope Kepu (Randwick/HSBC Waratahs)


16. Saia Fainga’a (Souths/Queensland Reds)
17. Pek Cowan (Warringah/Western Force)
18. Dan Vickerman (Sydney University/HSBC Waratahs)
19. Scott Higginbotham (Wests/Queensland Reds)
20. Luke Burgess (Sydney University/HSBC Waratahs)
21. Anthony Fainga’a (Souths/Queensland Reds)
22. Lachie Turner (Eastwood/HSBC Waratahs)

Climate cost: State’s disaster bill to hit $60b a year

Premium Content Climate cost: State’s disaster bill to hit $60b a year

Climate change to cost Queensland $60b every year by 2038

How to activate your free Courier Mail subscription

Premium Content How to activate your free Courier Mail subscription

Did you know you can get even more – for free?

GREAT DEAL: $5 a month for all the best stories, rewards

Premium Content GREAT DEAL: $5 a month for all the best stories, rewards

Get discount Binge streaming and Kayo live sports access